Quiet

I haven’t been posting, because there hasn’t been much to say. The first week of the new semester is past; I had my last new class yesterday at 10:30. Now I can catch my breath and take my bearings.

Over the summer semester I work two 11-hour days, and a couple of hours on Saturday. That’s it. So, I’m trying/hoping/praying to dig up some more tutoring students. But it’s summer, so the student population is sparse. Sigh.

So, let’s see how I fared with my goals:

Junk food – I’ve done better on the chocolate, despite the teasing of my roommate. Another thing I’ve done is purchase a new lunch box. It’s a vertical bento box system from a company called Zojirushi. Here’s a link in case anyone’s interested in making it easier to take a healthy lunch. 

http://www.amazon.com/Zojirushi-SL-JAE14SA-Bento-Stainless-Silver/dp/B000246GSE/ref=sr_1_1?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1399843860&sr=1-1&keywords=zojirushi+mr.+bento+stainless+steel+lunch+jar

And speaking of healthy, my British roommate/partner introduced me to Marmite. Oh my goodness. It’s amazing. It actually tastes somewhat like meat, but it’s really good for boosting your B vitamins. So he says. I know that it’s really good with buttered toast, a small bit of Marmite, and a slice of cheese. Nummy.

Planning – I discovered over the past couple of days that it’s so much easier to find out what my characters are doing if I interview them. I’ve been having a lot of fun with that. And, I learned that my romantic lead left a family history of being part of a traveling circus to go to Brown University and double-major in Accounting and Economics. Who knew?

Studying – Trigonometry is sliding into my brain, which is going to be essential to pass my FTCE exam in August. I haven’t scheduled it yet, but that’s my plan. I get a three-week break between semesters at that point, so I’ll have a real opportunity to focus.

3 thoughts on “Quiet

  1. I’ve found interviewing to be helpful, too, when a character seems to be more closed than I wish they were.

    I love the circus-performer- becomes -college-student discovery. There’s a lot of potential for conflict and color in that!

    I’m glad you’ve gotten to a place where you can breathe and think again. Sending you wishes for tutoring business!

    And hooray fro new food discoveries! =)

    • Thanks, Shan! That was a really interesting food discovery, I can tell you. The vertical bento system arrived this afternoon, and now I’m sitting here wondering what in the world I’m going to put in it tomorrow!

      Enjoy your week!

  2. Pingback: Creative Paradox: ROW80 Update, 5/14/14 | shanjeniah

Leave a comment