Unbelievable!!!

Okay, so I’m hanging my head in shame. I can’t believe it’s been so long since I’ve posted. There’s no excuse. Well, maybe one…

My new job had me working seven days a week, for as many hours as I could manage. (Talk about breaking your brain!)

After a hectic, albeit broke, holiday season, I ended up getting a job in an accounting firm that does broker’s audits. Wow…talk about being thrown into the deep end of the pool! I’d never had any auditing experience, but I ended up in an Olympic-sized pool at the edge of the highest diving board. With hurricane force winds at my back.

When I accepted this job, it was under the assumption that once audit season was over, my hours would be cut from 40 to around 30-35. I accepted that. After all, I also teach algebra at a local college. Things were not as advertised, however…

The deadline for broker’s audits – without extensions – was this past Monday at midnight. There were only a couple of audits that had to go on extension, and my portion of those audits was already completed.

So, guess what happened next?

Yep. I’m looking for a new job, because there was no work for me to do.

I’ve got a couple of interviews set for Monday. Yesterday I had my hair cut and styled in preparation, and this weekend I’m going to shop for clothes. After all, I’ve been wearing jeans for the past 10 years at my teaching job. Heck, even at the CPA firm we wore jeans and trainers. That was really nice.

We’ll see how the new challenges turn out.

(And, my creative brain has come back since this has ended. Woo hoo!)

2 thoughts on “Unbelievable!!!

  1. Oh, wow, sorry you had to go through all that, Lara! Both the craziness of so many hours and the being let go straight after. Best of luck finding something new asap!

    • Thanks, Emily. So nice to see you again. Crossing my fingers regarding the interviews on Monday. I’ve got to shop for interview clothes this weekend. Blech! I loathe shopping, unless it’s for other people. Thanks for coming by – hopefully I won’t let it go this long again!

Leave a Reply

