Late, But Still Here

I’m so, so late with Sunday’s post. Ouch! It wasn’t what I expected. I think I mentioned in last Wednesday’s post that I was going to put putting up some backstory in my Works in Progress section. Right now they’re taking the form of short stories, but I may put up character interviews later. Maybe even an interview with a crazy villain or two!

But I digress.

Anyway, I had something of a panic attack. I worked on the short story as intended. I figured I’d put it up scene by scene. I froze. I started editing that first scene, and I froze right in the middle of combining two sentences. I stared at the screen, and nothing seemed to make sense. I closed my computer down and put it away. It was panic, pure and simple. I wasn’t even able to open my computer, let alone get my fingers on the keyboard to open Scrivener.

Somehow, last night, I was able to get back. I finished the editing this morning.

This is the first time I’ve done anything like this, so I’m crossing my fingers and posting.

The first scene of “The Day of Choosing” is up under my Works in Progress. It’s part of the Chronicles of Rassa series. I hope, if you set foot on my planet, you’ll come to enjoy it as much as I do.

For some reason, my followers aren’t getting automatically notified that I’ve done something on a subpage. So, here’s the link for the first scene:

https://laramcgill.wordpress.com/worlds/chronicles-of-rassa/the-day-of-choosing/alizaanes-escape/

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Late, But Still Here

  1. I know that feeling of panic. I’ve found that having some kind of plan before I start writing helps, but sometimes I realize the plan isn’t working, or that the story has evolved and no longer wants to fit into my carefully laid plan–or that I simply don’t know how to get from one plot point to the next. It’s so frustrating, but it usually works out after some wrestling with the scene in question.

    Have a great week, Lara!

    • Hi Denise,

      The whole panic thing was completely new to me. Never, ever happened before. It did make me reflect on how much writing mattered to me, though. I’ve never put up anything out there into the world on a global scale. I’ve published non-fiction, and I had a fiction series in a now-defunct small press magazine called The Rosegate Journal.

      But this? This matters – and I’m naked on stage and underneath spotlights.

      (I just have to remember to keep breathing…)

  2. Ah, yes. The fear of exposure. I can relate. For some reason I’ve gotten over it when it comes to standard blog posts, but anytime I include a freewrite (like I’ve been doing lately) or a link to creative work, my throat constricts and I get the nervous sweats. Which is all to say: congrats on feeling the fear & doing it anyway! =*)

Leave a Reply

