Stuck

That would be me. I’m floundering around in a sea of ennui. That could be the result of the temperature being in the 40s here in Orlando, with rain and clouds. Not to mention ice storms and snow just a little north of us.

Nothing creative has been coming into my head, and I mean nothing. So, I decided to set it aside for a couple of days to see what percolates through. Theoretically I’m supposed to meet with a writing friend tomorrow at Starbucks. I hope something works by then.

As far as my goals are concerned, I haven’t done any worldbuilding. See above. Being nice to myself has kind of slipped by the wayside as well, just because of all the plain old life-type-stuff that just keeps happening. But, that’s why we joined this particular challenge, right? The one that knows we have a life?

Anyway, off to stare at the screen to see if I can sweat enough blood to create something.

See everyone on Sunday!

5 thoughts on “Stuck

  1. If it makes you feel any warmer, it was in the single digits (and probably dipped into the negatives, too) here in the Virginia mountains. When it finally gets back into the 40s, it will feel downright tropical.

    I understand that stuck feeling completely. Sometimes I stare at the blank screen until I feel like banging my head against the wall. Finally, I write something, anything–even if it’s not the scene I intended to write that day. Yesterday I couldn’t bring myself to work on the rest of a chapter I needed to finish, so I wrote a scene that I’ve been picturing that occurs a few chapters later.

    Hopefully a visit with writerly friends sparks something. I met with my crit partners last night, and they helped me fill the well of inspiration, so to speak. Good luck with your ROW80 goals, Lara!

    • Hi Denise. You’re absolutely right – compared with Virginia, Orlando does still feel tropical! I think, in order to bring myself back into the witches and weres universe, I’m going to go through Patricia Wrede’s world building questions and see if that will spark anything.

      See you Sunday, Denise!

  2. I’d recommend just going with a free write session. It’s probably not related to anything you’re currently working on, but may help smash through the brain-block barrier. Then you may feel better equipped to tackle a project (even if you don’t, you’ve still created something!). A little like doing warm-ups before physical exercise.

Leave a Reply

