Cold – Physical, Not Temperature

I’ve not got a lot to report right now. My first gift back to work this week was a cold from one of my students. Blech! My brain is working – slowly – and I’ve sort of got some half-formed ideas thrashing around in there. Nothing’s swum to the surface shouting “Pick me, pick me!” And that’s okay. With more garlic broth and sleep, something will eventually arise.

I’m still being nice to myself. Like now, I’m resting when I need to rest. I’m not going to force anything or beat myself up because I’m a bit behind. I can make it up later when I feel better.

I did do one thing fun, though, the day before I got the cold. I foundΒ a fantasy challenge about walking from Hobbiton to Mordor, to destroy the One Ring of Power. Sort of like walking in Frodo’s footsteps. It’s just another way to get back in shape using an interesting method. So, I signed up.

Bam! Got stuffy and snuffly, and haven’t felt like walking a step. That’s okay. Using another rmovie, I can say I’m emulating Bilbo – I’ll catch up to the dwarves later.

See y’all on Sunday!

14 thoughts on “Cold – Physical, Not Temperature

  1. Get well soon! I also struggle with being “nice” to myself–as in, taking it easy and not trying to be Wonder Woman all the time. The Frodo fitness challenge exercise sounds like fun. A while back, I discovered an app called Zombies, Run! It was a running challenge in which you role-played being a hero during various missions to stop the zombie apocalypse. I never tried it, but it sounded very amusing. πŸ™‚

  2. Lara, have you not heard? One does not simply walk into Mordor! ;-D Best of luck with that endeavor, though! It sounds like it could be fun. I used to pretend to be Frodo all the time when I was a kid, before it dawned on me that Frodo was a boy and I wasn’t.

    I’m sorry to hear you caught a cold, but garlic broth really sounds yummy. Do you make it yourself, or do you buy it somewhere? I’ve never seen garlic broth in the stores, but then, you may have different stores in your area. Where is your area? I’m in Texas.

    Keep being nice to yourself. Taking care of your own needs first is NOT selfish – it’s sane and safe behavior, so that you can take care of other’s needs as well. It’s only selfish when you’re taking care of your own WANTS when your family’s NEEDS have not yet been met.

    • Hi Tammy! I figured I could do this on my treadmill, while watching the extended versions of the movies. And probably the Hobbit, too.

      In my job, a cold is always a gift from a student who’s paying close attention! lol. As far as garlic broth is concerned, it’s homemade, using homemade stock. That way you can throw in whatever makes sense to you at the time, or put in whatever your body is craving.

      I’m over east of you, in Orlando. Not sure where I’ll be next year, though. I’m trying to get my Florida teaching certificate, then get the heck out of Dodge via a job.

      • Ooooh, Orlando. I enjoyed living in Orlando; I haven’t lived there since ’85. My sister is hoping to get all the family over to Orlando in a couple of years, to get in one last family fling at Disney while the nephews and niece are of a good age to actually appreciate it (the youngest would be seven then, the oldest 19).

        So, this garlic broth – just whatever stock you have on hand (beef, chicken, veggie), plus garlic and what not? I’ll have to get some garlic, now. πŸ˜€ And some what not, of course. Can’t have enough what not.

        Best of luck beating the cold, though. πŸ™‚

        • Morning, Tammy. Yes, the garlic broth can be done with any stock – theoretically. I’ve never done it with beef, because when I make stock, it’s almost always chicken. This year is the first time that I’ve made turkey stock. Normally after the holidays I just make a turkey soup and leave it at that. This year, nope, did stock instead.

          Orlando’s gotten extremely weird – and not in a good way. For instance, on the news this morning, there was a random kidnapping. And we’re always having random break-ins and shootings, drive-by shootings, and just about anything else you could think of. We were warned at work not to help anyone on the side of the road because a new gang initiation had people being kidnapped and raped, and sometimes killed as part of a gang initiation.

          Time to leave.

          Oh, as far as colds are concerned, coffee (any sort of caffeine) helps you breathe better. Apparently caffeine opens up your alveoli in your lungs. Good to know, right?

          Have a great day!

          • I knew that about caffeine helping clear congested lungs – I had a friend whose son had asthma, and instead of using a steroids inhaler, she’d have him chug caffeine when he had any attack. He rarely needed more than that; almost never used his inhaler. Not the route I would have gone, but it worked for them.

            Orlando was odd when I lived there, but it seems much worse now. Yeah, time to pull stakes and leave. Texas is nice (she says and smirks). Actually, Texas is usually much less humid than Orlando, especially inland, up by Dallas/Fort Worth, and land is cheap, and we hardly ever get any real heavy hurricane weather. Tornadoes are common, of course, but really only in season, and while Florida is always on a hurricane track, your little part of Texas is almost never on a tornado track, so the odds are MUCH better of not getting hit by a tornado in Texas than they are of not getting hit by a hurricane in Florida. πŸ˜€

            Just sayin’. Texas has its faults (and they are many), but it’s better than Orlando sounds like right now. πŸ™‚

          • You’re absolutely right, Tammy. The food is good in Texas, too. I’d probably have a conniption trying to teach in Texas, though. It’s my understanding that certain things are not quite…accepted…there.

            Lara

            On Fri, Jan 10, 2014 at 10:55 AM, Lara McGill

          • Well, with the slogan “Keep Austin Weird” I’d probably love the place. I was intrigued by an episode of Bizarre Foods America where Andrew Zimmern went to Austin. So much so that I made notes for a food-related mystery to be written at some time in the nebulous future.

            If you haven’t seen it, take a look. I think it’s on Netflix streaming. It’s well worth a look.

    • Hi kathils. Do try it, and let me know what you think. I’ve also found that if I roast garlic, I like it even better on baguette than butter. I’ve not tried them combined, though. That might prove too dangerous for my thighs…

      Enjoy your day!

      • Oooooh, garlic butter – as in roasted garlic pressed out of the husk and then mixed with butter (or not) – is just about HEAVEN! Whisk in a little olive oil, if you don’t want the butter, but that’s a choice as well. Possibly a little parmesan cheese … or not. And, you know, real butter is worth it. πŸ™‚

        For a completely different flavor, you can make onion butter – Roast onions and mash them up for a spread. You have to be careful not to let them get overcooked or crisp, but also not to let them juice out too much (although that is wonderful for adding flavor to anything!). When I was a kid, you could actually buy onion butter – it was sweet, from caramelized onions, and it was DELICIOUS! I haven’t seen it in decades, though.

Leave a Reply

