How’d I Do That???

So, everyone out there knows that I’ve been doing a lot of organizing, making sure I know where the heck I’m going before I really start madly cranking out the pages. Good thing to do, right?

Well, I’ve been getting a lot of good feedback on the excerpts I’ve been putting out there on Wednesdays, so I decided to try to look at a bit of planning for that book, too. It’s a time travel called Whirlwind. And then something wacked me upside the head. (Have you noticed yet how often that happens?)

I don’t know what the central question/problem of that novel is. Oops.

It looks like I’ve got more planning to do.

I’ve gotten a lot done on Immortal Blood this week, though. I’ve been hanging out with my writing partner Olivia – who’s been kidnapped and taken to the dark side – Candy Crush has her and no ransom has yet been sent. But I’ve resisted the siren call of sugar and pushed through. I’ve almost finished organizing. My spaghetti strands are mostly separated, or they’ve evaporated into starchy water. Either way, they’re gone. Woo hoo!

My next step is to find my plot holes and patch them.

See you on Wednesday!

 

6 thoughts on “How’d I Do That???

  1. All of my novels come to me first in scenes and snippets. I NEVER know, at first, what the central question is, and I’ve learned to accept that a crucial, and ultimately invisible part of the creative process, for me, is pages and pages of spiral notebook exploration.

    Only after the story in my head starts to coalesce, do I try to tease out the question and plot.

    So happy that you have found another project to play with, and that you are making progress.

    • Thanks, Shan. You know you’re onto something good when you get ideas in the shower – the one place where you can’t write anything down. If it sticks with you long enough to get to a writing implement of doom and a piece of parchment, it has a good chance of working. At least, in my less-than-perfect experience.

      Of course, that special chalk for shower walls might be a good idea for backup.

  2. I’m the same, it’s ideas, characters, scene snippets that come up first. Then I write everything down and explore it extensively (my new writing process!) in notebooks till it begins to come clear and that’s when I start writing. Right now, for instance, I’m working on my two main characters’ inner issues (flaws, beliefs, etc.) that makes them a perfect match for each other but also provides them with a character arc each. It’s fun! But it’s also hard work. 🙂

    I hope this week is going well for you. All the best.

    • Thanks, Lisa. You’re right – it is hard work. Writing is not for the faint of heart. There’re reasons why it feels like we’re sweating blood and gnawing furniture sometimes.

      I just saw something on Storyfix.com, I think it’s the most recent post, about a chart that relates all the main characters to each other. It looked kind of interesting. It was part of a guest post by Art Holcomb. You might like it.

      Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

