I Can See Through The Starch!

Yes, I’m finding a way through the pile of plot spaghetti.

Yesterday evening I was reading Alex Sokoloff’s book “Screenwriting Tricks for Authors (and Screenwriters!)”. In that book there’s a chapter called “Your First Draft Is Always Going To Suck.” I was reading it, and something clicked in as I was drifting off to sleep last night. I think part of my problem is that I’m finding things that I would normally add or find during the editing process. You know, beefing up certain things and cutting others. I really shouldn’t be doing that until I push through that crappy first draft.

So, I think that made my organization and planning a little easier. Whew! I didn’t think I was ever going to see the end of that.

I guess that means my goals are good for this post. I’ve been planning, and for a couple of days I was really on a roll. I really hated to stop to attend to day-to-day living stuff.

I managed to keep up on my posting obligations, too.

Things are looking good. See everyone on Wednesday.

Happy scribing!

2 thoughts on “I Can See Through The Starch!

  1. Alexandra Sokoloff and her books are a real treasure. I’ve read all of her books on writing and large portions of her blog archives (which expand on some of the topics in the books) and list her as one of the three most influential people to my writing methods. Glad to see that you were able to find a positive way to apply her teachings to make your work better–improvement and clarity are always good things.

    Have a fantastic week, Lara. 🙂

    • Alex’s blog led me to her books. Of course, I save all your stuff too. You’ve got your own folder in my important file.

      Have a great writing week – and everything else week, too!

Leave a Reply

