Hectic, Hectic, Hectic!

Today’s been a whirlwind of panicked students. Realization that the semester’s ending in two weeks finally hit them upside the head and they’ve all come running in to get whatever help them can to ensure they squeak by with a barely passing grade.

So, I had plans to possibly get into the WIPPets thing. I’m perhaps less than graceful, and that applies to putting things together on my blog site, too. I couldn’t make the Pet link work for the life of me. I might just have to throw that in there for the heck of it without a link.

So, here it is. Since this is the 7th month, I have seven paragraphs from my time travel “Whirlwind”. It goes from current day to pre-Revolutionary America.

Coffee. The strong scent of the nectar of the gods wafted up from the depths of darkness and tickled Meredith’s nose. It twitched in response. Her eyelids flickered, and her spirit fought its way to consciousness, desperate for a fix. Her eyes, grit-filled, tried to force their way open, but her eyelashes seemed to be glued together. She groaned softly and licked her sunburned lips.

“Easy, miss. You have sand in your eyes. Let me help you.” Annie, a soft cloth in her hand, dribbled a small stream of water into Meredith’s eyes. Wiping them gently, she slowly managed to remove the gunk that crusted her eyelids together.

Finally able to see, Meredith looked around and found nothing familiar. Her throat felt raspy, and she was certain her skin was on fire. “Who…?” she managed to croak.

“I’m the maid, Annie. The doctor asked me to watch over you and the other lady.” Her soft voice soothed Meredith. “You’re not to worry about anything. You’re safe here in Captain McEwan’s house.”

“Sister?” Meredith whispered.

“The other lady is your sister? She is still sleeping. She’s right next to you. All you have to do is look over to see her. I’m sure that will comfort you. I’ve been taking care of you both since yesterday, along with the doctor.” She adjusted the coverlet and smiled at Meredith. “Get some rest and recover your strength, miss. I’m very glad to see you awake. As soon as the doctor looks at you, I’ll be able to fetch you some food.” She smiled at Meredith and left the room, closing the door gently behind her.

The doctor? Meredith wondered what had happened to her. Try as she might, she couldn’t pull it all together. The last thing she remembered was smashing into the side of the bridge. Turning it all over in her mind exhausted her, and she tumbled back into a fitful sleep.

Okay, so reporting on goals – not so great. I’ve done some planning, but I’ve not gotten as much writing done as I would have liked. Only a couple thousand words. And that’s not good, because I’m doing the July Nano Camp this month.

So far, I’m keeping up on the blogging, though. And I’ve already seen that since I’ve moved to WordPress, I’ve seen an increase in readers. Yay! Thanks very much for that, everyone. I truly appreciate it.

I’ll see you all on Sunday!

7 thoughts on “Hectic, Hectic, Hectic!

    • Good morning, Bear. I hope this are great in your neck of the woods.

      Yeah, Meredith is very confused. She and Emily just traveled back in time through an odd anomaly in Narragansett Bay.

      Off to find some coffee. Have a wonderful day, Bear!

  1. I love the description of the smell of coffee, and the maid’s manner of speaking puts me very much in the period. I look forward to seeing more of this story! Welcome to the WIPpeteers! (I took the liberty of tweeting the link to this post with the WIPpet hashtag, so hopefully a few more of them will see your post :))

    • Emily, thanks – both for the compliment and the dealing with the link. I’m really glad you decided to come by. I feel Meredith’s need for coffee this morning. I woke up and found out my roommate finished it yesterday. I think I’m going to have to stumble into the shower and take a quick trip to Starbucks.

      I’ll be more coherent after that, I promise! Enjoy your day, and thanks again!

Leave a Reply

